Benin: technical reorganization and continuity of reforms

In Benin, a government of 24 members.

Several readings to make the government reshuffle occurred on September 5, 2019 in Cotonou, Benin. President Patrice Talon made technical adjustments while retaining key members of his 24-member team. Thus, the Minister of Finance, Romuald Wadagni, credited with a good record in terms of conducting strategic reforms and mobilizing funds, is renewed. Just like the Minister of Planning and Development, Abdoulaye Bio Tchane, a long-term vision bearer or the keeper of the seals, Severin Quenum, who has completed Benin’s arsenal of commercial justice through first-class commercial courts. instance and on appeal.

No change either in Agriculture where the engineer Gaston Dossouhoui is at the center of major reforms that have seen, among other things, Beninese cotton production exceed those of Mali and Burkina Faso.

Clearly, President Talon keeps the course and lighten his team for probably more action and acceleration in the reforms. The lack of openness to the opposition and the sign that the strong man of Cotonou favors operational efficiency where others would have sought political consensus.

Complete list of the government formed on September 5, 2019

Minister of State in charge of Planning and Development: Abdoulaye Bio Tchane

Seals, Minister of Justice and Legislation: Severin Quenum

Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation: Aurélien Agbénonci

Minister of Economy and Finance: Romuald Wadagni

Minister of the Interior and Public Security: Sacca Lafia

Minister of the Living Environment and Sustainable Development: José Tonaté

Minister of Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries: Gaston Dossouhoui

Minister of Decentralization and Local Governance: Alassane Séidou

Minister of Labor and Public Service: Adidjatou Mathys

Minister of Social Affairs and Microfinance: Véronique Tagnifodé

Minister of Health: Benjamin Hounkpatin

Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research: Eleanor Yayi Ladekan

Minister of Secondary, Technical and Vocational Training: Mahougnon Kakpo

Minister of Maternal and Primary Teaching: Karimou Salimane

Minister of Tourism, Culture and Arts: Jean Michel Abimbola

Minister of Digital and Digitalization: Aurélie Adam Soulé Zoumarou

Minister of Infrastructures and Transport: Hervé Hêhomey

Minister of Industry and Trade: Sadia Assouman

Minister of Energy: Dona Jean-Claude Houssou

Minister of Water and Mines: Samou Adambi

Minister of Small and Medium Enterprises and Employment Promotion: Modeste Kérékou

Minister of Sports: Oswald Homeky

Minister of Communication and Post: Alain Orounla

Minister Delegate to the President of the Republic in charge of National Defense: Fortunet Nouatin


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here