UEMOA: Senegalese Abdoulaye Diop, new President of the Commission

The West African Economic and Monetary Union (UEMOA) Commission has a new president. This is Senegalese Abdoulaye Diop, who takes office on May 8, 2021, when the term of office of outgoing President Abdallah Bouréima expires. Who himself announced this Wednesday April 14 through a press release.

This new appointment comes following the 22nd ordinary session held by videoconference on March 25, 2021, where the Conference of Heads of State and Government of WAEMU “decided to entrust the presidency of the WAEMU Commission to the proposed candidate. by the Republic of Senegal and instructed that the appointment of the members of the Commission, on the proposal of the Heads of State and Government, take place no later than May 1, 2021 ”, indicates Abdallah Bouréima.

In addition to the additional act confirming the appointment of Abdoulaye Diop, the President of Burkina Faso, Roch Marc Christian Kaboré, also of the conference of heads of state and government of the WAEMU, also confirmed on April 14, the appointment of the members of the Commission, composed of seven members: Jonas Gbian from Benin, Filiga Michel Sawadogo from Burkina Faso, Paul Koffi Koffi from Côte d’Ivoire, Mamadù Serifo Jaquite from Guinea Bissau, Lassine Bouaré from Mali, Mahamadou Gado from Niger, Abdoulaye Diop from Senegal and Kako Nubukpo from Togo.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here